2013 Tata Steel Chess Tournament

  • SonofPearl
  • on 09-01-13 22:47.

tata_logo.jpgThe 2013 Tata Steel Chess tournament takes place from 12-27 January in the small town of Wijk Aan Zee in the Netherlands.

Once again the familiar format of this famous annual tournament has three separate single round-robin competitions, the A, B, and C Groups, each featuring 14 players.

The strongest tournament is the A Group and this year features 6 out of the top 10 ranked players; world champion Vishy Anand, world #1 Magnus Carlsen, defending champion Lev Aronian, rising star Fabiano Caruana, world #6 Sergey Karjakin, and US champion Hikaru Nakamura

The former women's world chess champion Hou Yifan is the lowest seeded player in the A Group in what will be a real baptism of fire!

Ni Hua has had to withdraw from the B Group due to illness and is replaced by Sipke Ernst.

Play starts each day at 13:30 (12:30 UTC) except the final round which is at 12:00 (11:00 UTC).  The official website will have live games. There will also be live commentary here on Chess.com/TV beginning with the first round. Scroll down on the tv page for the schedule.

The time control is 100 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes to a finish with a 30 seconds increment starting from the first move. There are 3 rest days on 16, 21 & 24 January.

Tata Steel 2013 Group A

# Name Fed Elo
1 Carlsen, Magnus NOR 2861
2 Aronian, Levon ARM 2802
3 Caruana, Fabiano ITA 2781
4 Karjakin, Sergey RUS 2780
5 Anand, Viswanathan IND 2772
6 Nakamura, Hikaru USA 2769
7 Wang, Hao CHN 2752
8 Leko, Peter HUN 2735
9 Giri, Anish NED 2720
10 Harikrishna, Pentala IND 2698
11 van Wely, Loek NED 2679
12 Sokolov, Ivan NED 2663
13 L'Ami, Erwin NED 2627
14 Hou, Yifan CHN 2603


Tata Steel 2013 Group B

# Name Fed Elo
1 Naiditsch, Arkadij GER 2708
2 Movsesian, Sergei ARM 2688
3 Edouard, Romain FRA 2686
4 Tiviakov, Sergey NED 2655
5 Turov, Maxim RUS 2630
6 Rapport, Richard HUN 2621
7 Nikolic, Predrag BIH 2619
8 Smeets, Jan NED 2615
9 Dubov, Daniil RUS 2600
10 Ipatov, Alexander TUR 2587
11 van Kampen, Robin NED 2581
12 Grandelius, Nils SWE 2572
13 Timman, Jan NED 2566
14 Ernst, Sipke NED 2556


Tata Steel 2013 Group C

# Name Fed Elo
1 Peralta, Fernando ARG 2617
2 Kovchan, Alexander UKR 2579
3 Brunello, Sabino ITA 2572
4 Mekhitarian, Krikor Sevag BRA 2543
5 Romanishin, Oleg M UKR 2521
6 Gretarsson, Hjorvar Steinn ISL 2516
7 Swinkels, Robin NED 2508
8 Burg, Twan NED 2492
9 Van Der Werf, Mark NED 2450
10 Klein, David NED 2445
11 Goryachkina, Aleksandra RUS 2402
12 Bitensky, Igor ISR 2400
13 Admiraal, Miguoel NED 2321
14 Schut, Lisa NED 2295

Who are your picks for Tata Steel 2013? Will the world champion Vishy Anand rediscover his form? Will Magnus Carlsen consolidate his #1 ranking with another tournament win? Will Lev Aronian defend his 2012 title?  Will Hikaru Nakamura repeat his 2011 triumph?  Or will another player take the spoils?  Sound off in the comments...

13304 x gelezen 49 reacties
6 stemmen


  • 4 jaar geleden


    Best game today: Anand vs. Nakamura

  • 4 jaar geleden


    Carlsen needs to get 9 out of 13 to avoid a rating drop (9/13 would make his new rating 2862)

  • 4 jaar geleden


    I believe that it is Wang Hao, not Hao Wang

  • 4 jaar geleden


    1) Carlsen

    2) Aronian

    3) Karjakin

    4) Anand

    5) Nakamura

  • 4 jaar geleden


    Anand or either Hari

  • 4 jaar geleden


    All the pairings for groups A, B and C are now available.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    This Tata could use more steel, as in 'Hammer'.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    @ vaiuuii Thanks, I'm getting more and more used to writing "commentary" as well as "coverage" for these big tournaments that I got a bit carried away! Laughing

  • 4 jaar geleden


    @ anupam92 The draw for the pairings in group A and B takes place today, I believe.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    @SonofPearl I have checked the official website previous day there was no date wise schedule but today there is only schedule for group c.


  • 4 jaar geleden


    Just a sidenote: 

    "Play starts each day at 13:30 (12:30 UTC) except the final round which is at 12:00 (11:00 UTC). The official website will have live coverage and commentary."

    The official site will not have live commentary:

    During the tournament there will be live commentary sessions in the Tata Steel Chess Pavilion.

    "The commentary begins every day at 14:30. Except for Sunday 27 January the commentary begins at 13:00."

    It is only live commentary for all those present in Wijk...

  • 4 jaar geleden


    My future self tells me Leko will be within the first 10, but Yifan will be out.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    1. Carlsen

    2. Karajakin

    3. Nakamura

    4. Aronian

    5. Caruana

    6. Hao 

    7. Anand

    8. Harikrishna

    9. Leko

    10. Giri

    11. Van Wely 

    12. Yifan

    13. Sokolov

    14. L'Ami

  • 4 jaar geleden


    I think vishy could win this tournament and end all criticismCool

  • 4 jaar geleden


    I'd like to see Nakamura win again b/c he is from the U.S.A.  I would also like to Anand win it b/c he is an old guy in his 40's like me. I would love to see him have a strong tournament against those spring chickens, and hush all the nay sayers.   However MC is hot right now, best rating ever, and is definitely the most likely to win this year.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    @anupam927 I didn't create a chart for the article, but all the information on dates, start times, and rest days is there.

  • 4 jaar geleden

    IM Kacparov

    Yes Petriosanic that was a shock for me as well, considering the quality of her games which I saw life...

  • 4 jaar geleden

    NM Petrosianic

    Goryachkina over 2400 already wow.  tremendous field of players although the bottom few in each group may take a beating.

  • 4 jaar geleden


    What is the shedule ? @SonofPearl

  • 4 jaar geleden


    11,12,and 13, of the Group A, aren't joyful, with Carlsen, Aronian, Caruana... in the same group.  either way, the ratings are good enought

Terug naar boven

Je reactie plaatsen: